“THROUGH MY LENS” Recap- Tel Aviv 2012

12 Sep

My trip to Israel this summer was eye opening and enlightening. I discovered things about my family history that I have been searching for. I found out my dad’s side of the family migrated to Israel from Cordoba, Spain during the Spanish Inquisition. I met some family members who I havent been connected to in over 15 years and I visited places my parents lived and worked in Tel Aviv.  I decided to use this new information I gathered  in my second solo exhibition at Bazel Gallery. One spot I was particularly inspired by was a place near Rehov Hamasger where my dad worked in the 50’s. Currently this place is facing demolition and it once was the heart of the auto industry. My dad worked there for many years before migrating to New York. I was enamored by the tin shacks and the semi demolished walls that possessed so much character and history. I collected bits and pieces of the walls that were being torn down. After returning to this location numerous times I came across this wall- the very last wall standing in this area. I felt like I was collecting pieces of my dad’s history that were about to disappear forever. The significance of this place and remaining wall was included in my installation at the gallery. It is a mixture of  pieces I collected from this site as well as old frames I found at markets and antique frame shops. check out the pics below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

